- The Boreka Diary - http://www.theglobaljewishkitchen.com -

Sukkot 2010 Menus and Pictures

Posted By Linda Capeloto Sendowski On September 28, 2010 @ 10:39 PM In Cookbook,Holidays,Kosher Food Dish,Menus for All Occasions | 2 Comments

This year Sukkot 2010 was a joyous celebration and epicurean delight.  After the solemn days of Yom Kippur we erect our Sukkah in anticipation of all the delightful dinner conversation and magical atmosphere that dining under the stars creates.  I take the opportunity to design and execute several unique menus for our invited friends and family.  This year we had parties Wednesday the 22nd, Friday night the 24th, and Sunday the 26th. [1]

Three different menus call for a lot of preparation and shopping.  I will share with you the menus and a few photographs in the hopes of helping you plan for next year’s Sukkot or for all the celebrations that begin as the scent of autumn is detectable in the air and the days grow shorter.

Wednesday September 22nd [2]

Pastelicos [3]

Anise Flavored Challah

Chicken Soup

Matzo Balls

Baby Greens Salad with Heirloom Tomatoes, Pomegranate Seeds, & Fresh Corn Kernels

Prime Rib with Garlic Jus

Roast Turkey

Roasted French Red Fingerling Potatoes

Fried Cauliflower Florets [4]

Oven Roasted First of the Season Brussels Sprouts With Sea Salt

Grapes

Melon

Strawberries

Apple Cake

Pistachio Biscotti [5]

Travados [6]

Mint Tea

Friday September 24th [7]

Challah

Sephardic Rice [8]

Sephardic White Beans with Tomato

Grilled Scallions

Eggplant Salad

Fried Eggplant Slices

Moroccan Carrot Salad [9]

Israeli Salad

Hummus

Fire Grilled Artichokes [10]

Chipotle Mayonaise

Grilled Lamb Kufte [11]

Roast Chicken

Barbecue London Broil with mixed Teriyaki Sauce

Chocolate Espresso Cake [12]

Garnet Yam Cake [13]

Grapes

Crenshaw Melon

Sunday September 28th [14]

Buffett

Salvadorian Pastelitos with Chicken

Pastelicos of Meat and Rice

Pumpkin Borekas [15]

Kufte de Prassa [16]

Kibbeh Senia [17]

Bastilla

Hummus [18]

Guacamole

Pico De Gallo

Israeli Salad

Heirloom Tomato Salad

Green Salad

Steamed French Green Beans

Stuffed Cabbage [19]

Turkey Chili [20]

Sephardic Beans

Sephardic Rice

Brisket a la Sendowski [21]

Grilled Sumac Chicken Thighs [22]

Chocolate Espresso Cake

Baklava

Apple Cake

Garnet Yam Cake

Blood Orange Sorbet

Oatmeal Cookies

Pistachio Biscotti

Strawberries

Grapes [23]

Share [24]

2 Comments (Open | Close)

2 Comments To "Sukkot 2010 Menus and Pictures"

#1 Comment By Norma On September 29, 2010 @ 6:45 AM

Hi Linda,

Happy Holidays!!!!! Your pictures and menus are just amazing. The bastilla looks unbelievable. You are a wonderful cook and baker. I enjoy your posts so much.

Norma

#2 Comment By Greek Girl from Queens On September 29, 2010 @ 9:09 AM

Absolutely beautiful, Linda! I totally agree with Norma – you are an incredible, inspired (and inspiring!) cook and baker. All this food looks beautiful and delicious. While we did celebrate Sukkot when I was growing up, it never looked as enticing and welcoming and beautiful and colourful and fun as these photos clearly show. How many people usually gather ’round your house for the festivities? And how in the world did you find the time to prepare all these gorgeous dishes? I would be honoured to be sit at your Sukkot table – absolutely a delight to behold. Thanks for sharing this with us, Linda. You are truly an inspiration to all of us.


Article printed from The Boreka Diary: http://www.theglobaljewishkitchen.com

URL to article: http://www.theglobaljewishkitchen.com/2010/09/28/sukkot-2010-menus/

URLs in this post:

[1] Image: http://www.theglobaljewishkitchen.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/09/Sukkot-and-Class-022.jpg

[2] Image: http://www.theglobaljewishkitchen.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/09/Sukkot-and-Class-062.jpg

[3] Pastelicos: http://www.theglobaljewishkitchen.com/2010/06/06/pastelicos-de-carne/

[4] Fried Cauliflower Florets: http://www.theglobaljewishkitchen.com/2010/03/02/cauliflower-three-ways/

[5] Pistachio Biscotti: http://www.theglobaljewishkitchen.com/2009/10/13/pistachio-biscotti-from-the-boreka-diary/

[6] Travados: http://www.theglobaljewishkitchen.com/2010/09/02/nut-borekas/

[7] Image: http://www.theglobaljewishkitchen.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/09/Sukkot-and-Class-050.jpg

[8] Sephardic Rice: http://www.theglobaljewishkitchen.com/2009/12/20/rice-beans-and-kuftes-thursday-night-dinner/

[9] Moroccan Carrot Salad: http://www.theglobaljewishkitchen.com/2010/07/19/classic-moroccan-carrot-salad/

[10] Image: http://www.theglobaljewishkitchen.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/09/Sukkot-2010-and-Photo-Class-010.jpg

[11] Grilled Lamb Kufte: http://www.theglobaljewishkitchen.com/2010/05/06/lamb-kufte/

[12] Chocolate Espresso Cake: http://www.theglobaljewishkitchen.com/2009/12/12/chocolate-espresso-cake/

[13] Garnet Yam Cake: http://www.theglobaljewishkitchen.com/2009/10/05/garnet-yam-cake-with-brown-sugar-icing/

[14] Image: http://www.theglobaljewishkitchen.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/09/Sukkot-2010-and-Photo-Class-053.jpg

[15] Pumpkin Borekas: http://www.theglobaljewishkitchen.com/2009/09/16/pumpkin-borekas/

[16] Kufte de Prassa: http://www.theglobaljewishkitchen.com/2010/03/07/kufte-de-prassa/

[17] Image: http://www.theglobaljewishkitchen.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/09/Sukkot-and-Class-018.jpg

[18] Image: http://www.theglobaljewishkitchen.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/09/Sukkot-2010-and-Photo-Class-043.jpg

[19] Stuffed Cabbage: http://www.theglobaljewishkitchen.com/2010/09/22/stuffed-cabbage/

[20] Turkey Chili: http://www.theglobaljewishkitchen.com/2010/01/03/seven-spice-turkey-chili/

[21] Brisket a la Sendowski: http://www.theglobaljewishkitchen.com/2009/12/05/my-best-brisket/

[22] Grilled Sumac Chicken Thighs: http://www.theglobaljewishkitchen.com/2010/04/10/grilled-chicken-thighs/

[23] Image: http://www.theglobaljewishkitchen.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/09/Sukkot-2010-and-Photo-Class-013.jpg

[24] Image: http://www.addtoany.com/share_save

[25] Sukkot Menu and Pictures : http://www.theglobaljewishkitchen.com/2013/09/25/sukkot-menu-and-pictures/

[26] Sukkot Menus 2011 : http://www.theglobaljewishkitchen.com/2011/10/24/sukkot-menus-2011/

[27] Sukkot Entertaining : http://www.theglobaljewishkitchen.com/2009/10/13/sukkot-entertaining/

[28] Menu for a Sukkot Party 2012 : http://www.theglobaljewishkitchen.com/2012/10/08/menu-for-a-sukkot-party-2012/

[29] Rosh Hashanah Menus for 2013/ 5774 : http://www.theglobaljewishkitchen.com/2013/08/21/rosh-hashanah-menus-for-2013-5774/

[30] Powered by: http://www.yarpp.com

Copyright © 2010 The Jewish Global Kitchen. All rights reserved.